Tags

, , ,

The following is from a blog I follow.  I have lost not one but two brothers to suicide in my life.  One 23yrs ago & one just a year ago.  Their deaths have left me stunned to say the least & the absence of them in my life is felt every day.

I learned about Dan & his event “Out Of The Darkness” (a 26-mile walk through the night to raise money for suicide prevention) this past year. His own experience of losing someone close to him to suicide moved him from his grief to action.

Here is part of a speech he gave that I hope will encourage you no matter what you are struggling with today ~

I Am Alive

DanpallottaBy Dan Pallotta

I may have lost my brother, my sister, my parent, my child, my friend, my spouse, my partner…but I am alive.

I am a survivor of the dark night of unspeakable loss, of my own darkness…and I am alive.

I am unwilling to stand idly by and allow shame to defeat love or silence to defeat action. I stand for the enlightenment of a society that would hide from suicide…and I am alive.

I am unwilling for my perseverance to be in vain. Unwilling for the passing of my loved one to be in shame. I loved them more than I loved myself, and their life will have meaning in my action. I am alive.

In a world blinded by the pursuit of pleasure, I am here to say that people are in pain. In a world rushing to get ahead, I am here to say that people are being left behind. In a world obsessed with the value of the market, I am here to speak for the value of life…and I’m alive.

This will be no quiet fight.

I am the voice of audacity in the face of apathy.

I am the spirit of bravery in a world of caution.

I am a commitment of action in the face of neutrality.

I am into the light, and I am alive.

Dan Pallotta delivered this speech at the 2002 Out of the Darkness Suicide Awareness Walk in Washington, DC. Read more about Dan on January 24, 2012, when his story is featured in this month’s “Beyond Surviving” post.

Posted at 10:01 PM in Beyond Surviving Stories, Loss of Spouse / Partner

http://www.allianceofhope.org/blog_/2012/01/i-am-alive.htm

http://www.allianceofhope.org/blog_/

